Selling a House With Personal Photos

I’ve been trying to put a classic family picture wall gallery in the hallway that leads to our master bedroom but the layout always stumped me.  I am a symmetrical orderly person which will surprise many of you who know me.  I can’t stand an angled bed or a couch angled in the corner of a room.  That’s says to me; it doesn’t fit.  I also don;t like to see a bed against the wall.  I would say 90% of the houses I sell the kids beds are against the wall.  The first thing I think of is what a pain in the ass to make that bed and changing the sheets…UGH!  Who cares if the kids fall out if the bed, mine did and they are fine::))  I’m clearly showing my neurotic side today because I don’t want to sleep in a bed with my head under a window and I definitely don’t want to sleep in a bed angled in the corner with that dead space behind it.

Which brings me back to the wall gallery.  I love the top presentation below, the bottom one — I’d rather stick needles in my eyes!  The top is orderly and symmetrical but it is also soothing, allowing your eye to calmly move from one picture to the next.  As a Realtor, I would NOT ask my client to remove these pictures.  I am a complete unabashed believer in de-cluttering and de-personalizing to some extent.  But I do not believe in removing every trace of life from a house.  Yes, get rid of that show off picture of you and Bill Clinton in the sterling silver frame on the mantle in the living room.  He is not your bestie but now people are wondering how you know Bill and not looking at the house.  Worse than that they hate Bill or W and can’t imagine themselves liking a house that one of “these” people liked.  Yes, it is amazing how many people in Newton have a framed picture of themselves with a “celebrity” prominently displayed in their home.

I want a house to look happy, if you have some wonderful photos of your children laughing or a cute moment captured on camera, by all means leave it there.  A grouping, a sentimental picture in a nice frame on the bedside table,  a gallery wall that is well done.  I don’t want to see three years of your kids artwork on the refrigerator.  For the most part I don’t want to see your kids art work all. If your kid is talented, then by all means frame a few pictures and hang them.  If not, get a plastic bin and put the budding Van Gogh’s work in there.  It will have to be done before you move anyway.

The key to photos is tasteful, happy, edited, soothing….

YES YES BY ALL MEANS YES!

NO NO  NOOOO!  Everything about this wall makes me anxious…I want to straignten the frames, I want to rip down the blue and white peeling sayings.  Baby blue stick ons on baby poop colored walls is a NO.

Leave a Reply

